Community Calendar

Book Sale at Alexandria and Justin Potter Libraries

Feb 12, 2015 to Mar 6, 2015
Justin Potter and Alexandria Libraries

The Justin Potter and Alexandria Libraries are having their semi-annual book sale starting on Thursday, February 12 and ending on Friday, March 6. There will be books, audio books, videos and magazines for sale at great prices. The libraries accept donations of books and movies that are in good condition. They request no textbooks, magazines or encyclopedia. Come by and check out what the libraries have to offer. For additional information, contact Justin Potter Library at 615-597-4359 or the Alexandria Library at 615-529-4124.

DeKalb County 4-H Horse Judging Informational Meeting

Mar 2, 2015
3:30 p.m.
DeKalb County Extension Office

DeKalb County 4-H
Horse Judging
Informational Meeting & 1st Practice

Tuesday, March 2 from 3:30-4:30 p.m.
DeKalb County Extension Office (Community Complex)
722 S. Congress Blvd in Smithville

This is for anyone in 4th-12th grades. We will discuss the contest rules, future practice dates, and start learning the basics of horse judging! You don’t need a horse to participate! Call 597-4945 for more information.

DeKalb County Youth Baseball Signups

Feb 21, 2015
8:00 a.m.- Noon
DeKalb Middle School Cafeteria

DeKalb County Youth Baseball Signups

February 21 from 8:00 a.m. until noon
February 28 from 8:00 a.m. until noon
March 7 from 8:00 a.m. until noon (tryouts to follow)

DeKalb Middle School Cafeteria

Machine Pitch ages 7-8
Kid Pitch ages 9-10
Kid Pitch ages 11-12

(Ages are as of January 1)

Please bring a copy of birth certificate and proof of residence

Monetary Support Needed for the Blue Springs Community Center

Feb 9, 2015 to Feb 28, 2015
Blue Springs Community Center

The Blue Springs Community Center is currently in the process of being updated. Updates include improved wiring, lighting, plumbing, flooring, painting, blinds, and other cosmetic improvements. Additional updates are also planned, but your monetary support is needed to make them possible.
If you would like to make a monetary donation for improvements to the Blue Springs Community Center, please contact Reed Miller by calling (615) 215-7938 or mail your donation to 414 South College Street, Smithville, TN 37166. Any monetary donation amounts are appreciated and needed in order to continue making improvements to the community center.

DCHS Tigerette Softball Schedule

Mar 9, 2015
4:30 p.m.
Gainesboro

DCHS Tigerette Softball Schedule
*District Game
(DH) Double Header
(JV) Junior Varsity

Saturday, March 7: Cane Ridge Playday (NASHVILLE): TBA
Monday, March 9: Jackson County (DH) (AWAY): 4:30 p.m.
Thursday, March 12: *York Institute (DH) (AWAY): 4:30 p.m.
Friday, March 13: White County (DH) (HOME):4:30 p.m.
Tuesday, March 17: *Central Magnet (JV) (HOME): 4:30 p.m.
Thursday, March 19: *Livingston Academy (JV) (AWAY): 4:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, March 20-21: Gordonsville Tournament (COOKEVILLE) TBA
Tuesday, March 24: *Macon County (JV) (HOME):4:30 p.m.
Thursday, March 26: *Cannon County (JV) (HOME): 4:30 p.m.
Monday, March 30: *Cannon County (JV) (AWAY): 4:30 p.m.
Tuesday, March 31: *Smith County (JV) (HOME): 4:30 p.m.

Thursday, April 2: *Upperman (JV) (AWAY): 4:30 p.m.
Friday, April 3: Warren County (DH) (HOME): 2:00 p.m.
Tuesday, April 7: *York Institute (JV) (HOME): 4:30 p.m.
Thursday, April 9. *Central Magnet (JV) (AWAY): 4:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, April 10-11: Plateau Invitational (CROSSVILLE): TBA
Tuesday, April 14: *Macon County (JV) (AWAY): 4:30 p.m.
Thursday, April 16: *Livingston Academy (JV) (HOME): 4:30 p.m.
Tuesday, April 21: Warren County (DH) (AWAY): 4:30 p.m.
Thursday, April 23: *Smith County (JV) (AWAY):4:30 p.m.
Monday, April 27: *Upperman (JV) (HOME): 4:30 p.m.

May 1-6: District Tournament (BAXTER)

DCHS Tiger Baseball Schedule

Mar 9, 2015
5:00 p.m.
DCHS

DCHS Tiger Baseball Schedule
* District Games

Saturday, February 14: Stewarts Creek (AWAY): 11:00 A.M. (PRE-SEASON)
Thursday, February 26: Friendship Christian (HOME): 4:00 p.m. (PRE-SEASON)
Tuesday, March 3: Siegel (AWAY): 5:00 p.m. (PRE-SEASON)
Thursday, March 5: Cookeville(AWAY): 5:00 p.m. (PRE-SEASON)

Monday, March 9: Grundy County (HOME): 5:00 p.m.
Thursday, March 12: Eagleville (HOME): 5:00 p.m.
Saturday, March 14: Eagleville (AWAY): 3:00 p.m./JV 1:00 p.m.
Monday, March 16: *Central Magnet (AWAY): 5:00 p.m.
Tuesday, March 17: *Central Magnet (HOME): 5:00 p.m.
Wednesday-Saturday, March 18-21: Wilson County Tournament: TBA
Monday, March 23: *Upperman (HOME): 5:00 p.m.
Tuesday, March 24: *Upperman (AWAY): 5:00 p.m.
Friday, March 27: White County (HOME): 6:00 p.m.
Saturday, March 28: Gordonsville (AWAY): Noon JV After
Monday, March 30: *Livingston Academy (AWAY): 5:00 p.m.
Tuesday, March 31: *Livingston Academy (HOME): 5:00 p.m.

Friday, April 3: White County(AWAY): 5:00 p.m./JV After
Saturday, April 4: Grundy County (AWAY): 1:00 p.m./JV After
Monday, April 6: *Macon County (HOME): 5:00 p.m.
Tuesday, April 7: *Macon County (AWAY): 5:00 p.m.
Thursday, April 9: Warren County (AWAY): 6:00 p.m.
Friday-Sunday, April 10-12: Grundy County Tournament: TBA
Monday, April 13: *York Institute (HOME): 5:00 p.m.
Tuesday, April 14: *York Institute (AWAY): 4:30 p.m.
Monday, April 20: *Smith County (AWAY): 4:30 p.m.
Tuesday, April 21: *Smith County (HOME): 5:00 p.m.
Thursday, April 23: Warren County (HOME): 6:00 p.m.
Friday, April 24: Gordonsville (HOME): 5:00 p.m./JV After
Saturday, April 25: *Cannon County (AWAY): 1:00 p.m.
Monday, April 27: *Cannon County (HOME): 5:00 p.m.

May 1-7: District Tournament

Free Computer Classes

Feb 16, 2015
5:00 – 7:00 pm
Motlow classroom

Justin Potter Library's February Schedule:

Free Computer Classes - contact the library at 615-597-4359 to reserve a seat.

•Intermediate Excel - Monday, Feb. 9th, 16th & 23rd 5:00 – 7:00 pm in Motlow classroom
•Computer Basics - Thursday, Feb. 19th 2:30 - 4:30 pm at Justin Potter Library.
•Basic Computer Maintenance - Feb. 24th 2:30 - 4:30 pm at Justin Potter Library.

Next Book Sale - Thursday, Feb 12th - Friday, Mar 6th, 2015.

Story hour with FCCLA Club - Saturday, Feb. 28th at 10:00 am (children 3-10).

Rep. Terri Lynn Weaver’s “Coffee and Conversations”

Mar 6, 2015
7:30 a.m.
Social Blendz

Rep. Terri Lynn Weaver, TN House District 40 Representative, invites you to join her the First Friday of each month, 7:30-9:00 a.m., for “Coffee and Conversations.” Plan to meet her at Social Blendz, 310 West Broad St., Smithville, to discuss matters of concern to you in the community and state, and be updated on what is happening during this legislative session.

Wanda's Traveling Friends Presents a trip to Niagra Falls and Toronto

Jun 7, 2015 to Jun 13, 2015
Niagra Falls and Toronto

Wanda's Traveling Friends Presents a trip to Niagra Falls and Toronto for seven days and six nights, Sunday through Saturday, June 7-13. You must bring a valid U.S. Passport or U.S. Passport card for this tour. The price includes motor coach transportation, six nights lodging including four consecutive nights at Niagra Falls, 10 meals including six breakfasts and four dinners, guides tours of Niagra Falls and Toronto, a journey to the Falls on a Hornblower Niagra Cruise, gaming at Fallsview Casino, a visit to Niagra-on-the Lake and Queen Victoria Park, a visit to Casa Loma; Canada's most magnificent castle, and much more! $75 payment is due at the time of signup. For more information and reservations contact Wanda Poss at 615-597-4172.

Pages

Subscribe to Community Calendar

Follow Us


facebook.jpg

News Feed
feed.png

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166

Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
Email: wjle@dtccom.net

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree