Alexandria Mayor Position Not On City Ballot This Fall

March 8, 2007
Dwayne Page

Alexandria voters will be electing three aldermen this fall, but not a mayor.

DeKalb County Election Commission Officials say that despite reports in the local media, the office of Mayor will not be on the September 6th ballot.

The office of Mayor was on the ballot in 2005 for a 4 year term. If a vacancy occurs before the end of that 4 year term, a mayor must be appointed by the aldermen on the city council.

The office of Mayor for the City of Alexandria will not be on the ballot until 2009.

Incumbent Mayor David Cripps was appointed by the Alexandria Aldermen last summer after the elected Mayor Clara Lee Vantrease resigned.

Cripps says he will resign the office, effective in September.

Election Commission Officials say if Cripps resigns, the Alexandria Aldermen will have to appoint another Mayor to serve.

The qualifying deadline for the Alexandria election is June 21st at 12 noon. Petitions may be picked up at the Election Commission office beginning March 23. The last day to register is August 7.

For more information please contact the Election Commission office.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree