Evins Named Chairman of School Board

September 13, 2007
Dwayne Page

Fifth District School Board member W.J. (Dub) Evins III was elected Chairman of the Board of Education Thursday night.

The board re-organizes each September, naming a chairman, vice-chairman, and an assistant secretary.

Evins succeeds Seventh District member Johnny Lattimore who has served as chairman of the school board for the last two years.

Second District member Charles Robinson was re-elected Vice-Chairman and Sixth District member Linda Fuston was re-elected Assistant Secretary for the year.

In other business, Director of Schools Mark Willoughby presented the board his monthly written report on personnel moves made since the August meeting.

Those employed include:

Jared Daniels, math teacher at DCHS (replaces Clay Dickerson who resigned); Rob Robinson, special education assistant at DCHS (replaces Rebecca Satterfield who resigned); Tonya Roberts, special education assistant at Smithville Elementary School (replaces Tina Miller who resigned); Tracey Ludwig, transportation driver; and Jackie Rigsby, transportation driver.

Approved substitute teachers added to the list include:

Carolyn Allen, Kenneth Allen, Guylene Atnip, Suzette Barnes, Galen Brown, Carolyn Caldwell, Nancy Cantrell, Jesse Marie Cripps, Faye Evans, Betty Fisk, Debbie France, Leanne Frasier, Kelly Frazier, Robbie Joan Frazier, Doris Graham, Johnna Goff, Vicki Haggard, Judith Hale, Brenda Henry, Jean Hope, Milinda League, Cody Martin, Jeania Poss, Phyliss Reed, Kimberly Rhea, Beth Rhody, Teresa Spencer, George Sperry, Tammy Turner, Tammy Vanatta, Wanda Vickers, Susan West, Tom Werling, Helen Wilson, Nancy Young, Kimberly Young, Darcie Cripps, Elaine Perricone, and Amanda Vaughn.

Those granted a leave of absence as requested include Gina Arnold, Special Education Supervisor and Katherine Ballard, Special Education.

Those who have resigned include Rebecca Satterfield, special education assistant at DCHS; Tina Miller, special education assistant at Smithville Elementary School, and Clay Dickerson, math teacher at DCHS.

In other business, the board appointed Trustees to the Sick Leave Bank.

The purpose of the sick leave bank is to provide sick leave to contributors who have suffered an unplanned personal illness, injury, disability, or quarantine and whose paid leave is exhausted.

The sick leave bank shall be administered by a committee of Trustees. The committee shall be composed of five members: two members appointed by the board, two members appointed by the Teachers Association and the Director of Schools who shall serve as chairperson.

The two teacher members appointed as Trustees are Michael Hawkins and Jennifer Peak and the two board members are Joan Draper and Kenny Rhody.

The request for the Sick Leave Bank was presented to the board last August by John Isabell, former President of the DeKalb County Education Association. Isabell said "A Sick Leave Bank serves the purpose of allowing teachers to contribute some of their stored up sick leave days into a pool that would allow teachers who are experiencing a catastrophic event, such as a sickness in the family or sickness to themselves, who have exhausted their own sick leave, the ability to go into that pool and use some of those days."

Officials say the Sick Leave Bank is a voluntary statewide program for certified employees of Tennessee Public Schools, established by state law. Members donate earned sick leave to the bank and are then eligible to supplement normal paid sick leave if diagnosed or an immediate family member is diagnosed with a serious or catastrophic illness.

A participant shall not receive any sick leave from the Bank until after having exhausted all accumulated sick, personal, and or annual leave including all paid extensions.

Members must submit an application to the Sick Leave Bank Trustees for review. Medical documentation must accompany the application.

The employee will be notified in writing the status of the application.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
Email: wjle@dtccom.net
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree