Hendrixson Elected Mayor- White & Burger Win Alderman Seats

June 20, 2006
Dwayne Page

Taft Hendrixson has been elected Mayor of Smithville.

Hendrixson defeated challenger Jerry Hutchins', Sr. in Tuesday's Municipal Election 365 votes (55%) to 301 votes (45%)

Incumbent Smithville Mayor Cecil Burger, who has served sixteen years as the city's chief executive, decided not to seek re-election this year, opting instead to run for alderman.

Both Burger and Incumbent Alderman Stephen White were elected to the city council.

White led the ticket with 380 votes (34%) while Burger received 350 votes (31%).

Incumbent Alderman Jackie Rigsby, who is serving an unexpired term, lost his bid for election coming in third place with 322 votes (29%) and Alford Webber received 68 votes (6%).

A total of 696 people voted in the city election, including 425 early voters and 271 on election day. There are almost 3,100 registered city voters.

The vote in the mayor's race breaks down as follows:

Taft Hendrixson: Early Voting- 199, Absentees- 16, and Election Day- 150.
Jerry Hutchins. Sr.: Early Voting- 182, Absentees- 10, and Election Day- 109

The vote in the aldermen race breaks down as follows:

Stephen White- Early Voting- 207, Absentees- 13, Election Day- 160
Cecil Burger- Early Voting- 210, Absentees- 17, Election Day- 123
Jackie R. Rigsby- Early Voting- 184, Absentees- 9, Election Day- 129
Alford H. Webber- Early Voting- 34, Absentees-3, Election Day- 31

The new make up of the Board of Mayor and Aldermen will be as follows:

Mayor Taft Hendrixson and Aldermen Stephen White, Cecil Burger, Aaron Meeks, W.J. (Dub) White, and Paul Young.

Each term is for two years.

The newly elected mayor and aldermen will be sworn into office to begin their new terms during a special meeting on Saturday, July 1st at 8:00 a.m. at city hall

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
Email: wjle@dtccom.net
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree