Ina Ruth Bess Named DeKalb County Teacher of the Year

June 14, 2007
Dwayne Page

The DeKalb County Teacher of the Year is Ina Ruth Bess.

Kathy Bryant, President of the DeKalb County Education Association, made the announcement during Thursday night's Board of Education meeting.

A Teacher of the Year is selected at each of the five schools and one of them is chosen DeKalb County Teacher of the Year.

Ms. Bess was named Teacher of the Year at DeKalb County High School. She is now retired.

Bryant also recognized the other Teachers of the Year including Tom Hill of DeKalb Middle School, Shelia McMillen at DeKalb West School, Christie Young at Smithville Elementary School, and Carrie Gottlied at Northside Elementary School. McMillen was not present during Thursday night's meeting.

Each teacher was awarded a cash prize and a gift from the DeKalb County Education Association.

Director of Schools Mark Willoughby presented his monthly report on personnel to the board.

Those who have resigned since last month include Rob Robinson, Special Education Assistant at DCHS; Michelle Fontanez, a teacher at DCHS, and Jonathan Fontanez, Assistant Principal at DCHS.

Those hired since the last meeting include Janet Green, part-time vision teacher; K. Wayne Taylor, substitute custodian; Helga Thompson, substitute teacher; and Viva Vickers, substitute bus assistant.

Those granted a leave of absence as requested are Kimberly Crook, teacher at DeKalb West School and Amy Fox, teacher at Smithville Elementary School.

The board was scheduled to adopt the tentative budget for 2007-08, but action was postponed until a special meeting set for June 26th at 7:00 p.m., because the final numbers from the state on funding are currently unavailable.

Judy Thomas of the DeKalb Youth Soccer League briefly addressed the board concering possible use of a field between Northside Elementary School and the Family Medical Center.

Chairman Johnny Lattimore said the board plans to meet in an informal workshop session in July to discuss the issue.

The board approved overnight trip requests for FFA students to attend a camp July 2-6 at Doyle and for the DCHS Golf Team to participate in a Golf Tournament at Myrtle Beach, South Carolina September 14-15.

Board member Charles Robinson recognized Willoughby for having done a good job during his first year as Director. Robinson and other board members applauded Willoughby on his performance. Willoughby became Director of Schools on July 1st, 2006

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree