Rochelle Carries DeKalb In State Senate Primary Race

August 3, 2006
Dwayne Page

Former State Senator Bob Rochelle beat Aubrey T. Givens in a primary battle Thursday for the right to take on Republican Incumbent Senator Mae Beavers in November.

In DeKalb County Rochelle won 877(54%) to 734 (45%)

Beavers, who ran unopposed for the GOP nomination, received 819 complimentary votes in DeKalb County.

Rochelle carried the following DeKalb County precincts: Alexandria- 66 to 60, Edgar Evins State Park- 7 to 2, Dowelltown- 29 to 21, Courthouse 67 to 57, Johnson's Chapel- 17 to 14, Blue Springs- 25 to 23, and Early Voting 376 to 235. Rochelle had 18 absentees.

Givens carried the following DeKalb County precincts: Temperance Hall- 26 to 21, Liberty- 22 to 16, Snow Hill- 22 to 18, Middle School 60 to 58, Cherry Hill 7 to 6, Rock Castle 9 to 8, Elementary School- 55 to 53, Keltonburg- 33 to 24, and Church of Christ Annex 54 to 43. Givens had 9 absentees.

Rochelle and Givens tied at 25 each at Belk.

Meanwhile, Democratic State Representative Frank Buck, who ran unopposed in the primary Thursday, received 1,784 complimentary votes in DeKalb County while his November challenger, Republican Terri Lynn Weaver, got 629 complimentary DeKalb County votes. She was unopposed in the GOP Primary.

In other races, 6th District Democratic Congressman Bart Gordon defeated his primary challenger J. Patrick Lyons on Thursday.

Gordon received 1,969 DeKalb County votes to 151 for Lyons.

Republican David R. Davis, who was unopposed in the GOP primary, received 554 votes here. Davis will face Gordon in the November General Election.

In the U.S. Senate Primaries, DeKalb County voters choose Harold Ford, Jr. as the their favorite Democrat and Bob Corker as their favorite Republican.

In DeKalb County Ford received, 1,346 votes followed by Gary G. Davis with 221 votes, John Jay Hooker with 189, Charles E. Smith with 70, and Al Strauss with 27 votes.

In the GOP primary, Corker got 476 DeKalb County votes, followed by Ed Bryant with 303, Van Hilleary with 261, and Tate Harrison with 10.

Corker and Ford will square off in the November General Election. The winner will succeed Incumbent Republican U.S. Senator Bill Frist, who did not seek re-election.

In the Governor primary races, Democratic Incumbent Phil Bredesen received 1,755 DeKalb County votes followed by John Jay Hooker with 207, Tim Sevier with 111, and Walt Ward with 27.

In the Republican primary for Governor, Jim Bryson received 357 DeKalb County votes followed by David M. Farmer with 80, Joe Kirkpatrick with 58, Wayne Thomas Bailey with 49, Mark Albertini with 47, Wayne Young 25, and Timothy Thomas with 20.

Bryson will try to unseat Bredesen in the November General Election.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree