School Board Adopts 2007-2008 Calendar

October 12, 2006
Dwayne Page

The DeKalb County Board of Education formally adopted the school calendar for the 2007-2008 year Thursday night.

Registration for all students will be Monday, August 6th from 7:30 a.m. until 9:30 a.m. That will be an abbreviated school day.

Tuesday, August 7 will be an administrative day at all schools and all teachers must attend from 8:00 a.m. until 3:00 p.m. Students will not attend.

The first full day of school for all students will be Wednesday, August 8

A system wide professional development day will be Wednesday, August 1 at DCHS and all teachers from all schools must attend from 8:00 a.m. until 3:00 p.m.

All teachers will report to their individual schools Thursday and Friday, August 2 & 3 from 8:00 a.m. until 3:00 p.m. each day.

Students will not attend on Monday, Labor Day, September 3rd.

Schools will be closed for the fall break October 12-19

Students will be off for the Thanksgiving holiday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday, November 21, 22, & 23 and for the winter break December 20 through January 2, 2008. Wednesday, December 19 will be the last day students attend before winter break and that will be an abbreviated school day. Students will return after the holidays on Thursday, January 3rd to begin the third nine week session.

Schools will be closed for Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day on Monday, January 21 and for President's Day, Monday, February 18.

The spring break will be March 21st through 28th

Students will not attend on Thursday, May 22. That will be an administrative day and all teachers must attend.. The last day of school will be Friday, May 23. That will be an abbreviated school day and report cards will be given to the students.

Parent-Teacher Conferences will be held on Tuesday, October 9 and Thursday, March 13 at DeKalb County High School from 3:00 p.m. until 6:00 p.m.

Parent-Teacher Conferences will also be held from 3:00 p.m. until 6:00 p.m. Thursday, October 11 and Thursday, January 31st at DeKalb Middle School, Northside Elementary, Smithville Elementary, and DeKalb West School.

Report cards will be sent home on Thursday, October 4th, Monday, January 7th, and Monday, March 10th.

Competency testing at DCHS will be October 9-11 and February 12-14.

Gateway testing at DCHS will be December 4-6 and May 6-8. Gateway test makeup will be December 7th.

Writing Assessment for the 5th, 8th, and 11th grades will be February 5th. Writing Assessment make-up will be February 6th.

TCAP testing of elementary students will be April 14-18.

(Stockpile Days) Professional Development/Instructional Days will be held from 8:00 a.m. until 3:00 p.m. on Friday, October 5th; Friday, April 25th; and Friday, May 9th.

Board member Charlie Robinson, who is also a member of the Tennessee School Board Association's (TSBA) Board of Directors, presented the local board and Supervisor of Federal Programs Michelle Burklow an award for the recent \"Education Celebration.\"

The TSBA offers awards for Excellence in Education Programs that are designed to provide creative ways to enhance learning for students.

Robinson said the \"Education Celebration,\"held August 4, \"allowed students to collect various school supplies appropriate to their grade level and provided parents the opportunity to meet with school administrators and teachers to begin a year-long partnership to promote student success.\"

\"Education Celebration was a means for DeKalb County Schools to take a leadership role in reinforcing and improving relationships among parents, teachers, students and the community. This program involved business partners, local churches, the Director of Schools, school board
members and various community volunteers.\"

Robinson personally thanked Burklow, who headed up the project, saying \"I am privileged to present TSBA's Award for Excellence in Education Programs to the DeKalb County Board of Education and to the people of DeKalb County.\"

In other business, Director of Schools Mark Willoughby presented his monthly written personnel report to the board.

Those added to the approved substitute teacher's list include Carolyn Allen, Lisa Bowman, Christina Bowley, Amanda Carlton, Lorrie Evans, Kelly Frazier, Robbie Joan Frazier, Shelly Gibson, Dustin Hendrix, Joyce K. Hendrixson, Brenda Henry, Amy Johansen, Melinda J. League, Tracie Meadows, DeAnn Birdsong-Merrell, Angela Hedge Miller, Todd Miller, Sonya Parsley, and Jeanni L. Watson.

Tommy Darryl Davenport was added to the substitute bus driver list.

Those who have resigned include Beverly Starnes, cafeteria worker; Edith Lasser, Physical Therapy Assistant; and Phyllis Reed, Education Assistant at Smithville Elementary.

Ashley Barnes, Guidance Counselor at DeKalb Middle School, was granted a leave as requested.

Rita Young was transferred to the position of Attendance Clerk at Northside Elementary School and Smithville Elementary School.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree