Seven Persons Apply for Smithville Chief of Police

September 28, 2007
Dwayne Page

Seven persons have applied for Chief of Police for the City of Smithville, while twelve have filed an application for the job of Public Works Director, and five are in the running for the position of Secretary/Treasurer.

Noon Friday was the deadline for interested persons to submit their applications at city hall.

Those who have applied for Police Chief are former Chief and now Lieutenant Richard Jennings, Danny Nelson Holmes of Baxter, Mike Dennis Foster of Winchester, Kenneth D. Smith of Watertown, John C. Lowe of Apple Creek, Ohio, Phillip Bruce Robinette of Rogersville, and Tony Jones of Smithville.

Jennings began his law enforcement career with the City of Smithville in 1976. He joined the DeKalb County Sheriff's Department in 1977 working for then Sheriff Dwight Mathis until he left office in 1986. Jennings rejoined the Smithville Police Department in 1986 and was appointed Police Chief in 1994, a position he held for nine years before being re-assigned by the city council in November, 2003.

Holmes worked for the Putnam County Sheriff's Department from 1976 to 2006 and is now a security officer for the Cookeville Regional Medical Center. He also served as a D.A.R.E. instructor.

Foster served as Sheriff of Franklin County from 1998 until 2006 and is now security director at TEPRO Incorporated of Winchester. He has a B.A. degree in administration of justice from Columbia College and he has a Masters degree in criminal justice administration from MTSU.

Smith is currently employed with the Mount Juliet Police Department. He worked for the Lebanon Police Department from 1986 to 2006.

Lowe, who worked for the Wayne County Sheriff's Department from 1983 to 1993, is now employed by the Apple Creek, Ohio Police Department.

Robinette was Chief of the England City Police Department from 2006 to 2007. Prior to that, he worked for the Rogersville Police Department from 1991 to 2004 and the Hawkins County Sheriff's Department from 1979 to 1990.

Jones is a former member of the United States Air Force where he served 22 years with the Military Police.

Applicants for Public Works Director are as follows:

Myron Rhody, Phillip Eugene Wilkey, Bobby Wayne Pinegar, Lewis Donald Cantrell, Avent Ray (Buck) Mooneyham, Gary Wayne Prater, Albert Lourn Rice, Clarence Bradley Trapp, Jimmy Randall Taylor, Kenny Waynon Dyal, Wallace Dale Caldwell, and Kevin Erbie Robinson all of Smithville.

Applicants for Secretary/Treasurer are as follows:

William Hunter Hendrixson, Robert Dennis Schafer, and Gary Wayne Prater all of Smithville, Jennifer Michelle Hight of Alexandria, and Lisa Carole McMillin of Watertown.

The Smithville Mayor and Board of Aldermen will review the applications for each position and hire successors to former Police Chief Thomas J. Stufano and former Secretary/Treasurer Burnace Vandergriff.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree