Hendrixson, Burger, & White Win Re-election

June 17, 2008
Dwayne Page

Incumbent Smithville Mayor Taft Hendrixson and Incumbent Aldermen Stephen White and Cecil Burger have been re-elected to new two year terms after beating their challengers in Tuesday's Municipal Election.

A total of 963 voted in the election including 684 during early voting and 279 on Tuesday (election day).

Mayor Hendrixson defeated Faye Driver Fuqua 542 (56.75%) to 413 (43.25%).

Alderman Burger led the ticket with 570 votes (34.46%) followed by White with 567 votes (34.28%). Unsuccessful candidates for aldermen were Danny Washer with 409 votes (24.73%) and Alford Webber with 108 votes (6.53%).

Mayor -elect Hendrixson and Aldermen-elect Burger and White will be sworn into office again soon. Their terms officially begin July 1st.

The Mayor and Board of Aldermen consist of Mayor Taft Hendrixson and Aldermen Stephen White, Cecil Burger, Tonya Sullivan, Willie Thomas, and Jerry Hutchins' Sr.

The positions of Sullivan, Thomas, and Hutchins will be up for election in June 2009.

The vote in the mayor's race Tuesday breaks down as follows:

Faye Driver Fuqua:
Early Voting-271
Absentees (paper ballots)-39
Election Day-103

Taft Hendrixson:
Early Voting-353
Absentees (paper ballots)-14
Election Day-175

The vote in the aldermen race breaks down as follows:

Cecil Burger:
Early Voting-362
Absentees (paper ballots)-32
Election Day-176

Danny Washer:
Early Voting -276
Absentees (paper ballots) 21
Election Day-112

Alford Webber:
Early Voting-75
Absentees (paper ballots)-9
Election Day-24

Stephen White:
Early Voting- 367
Absentees (paper ballots)-21
Election Day-179

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
Email: wjle@dtccom.net
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree