Robinson Named Chairman of School Board

September 11, 2008
Dwayne Page
Kenny Rhody, W.J (Dub) Evins III, Charles Robinson

Second District School Board member Charles Robinson was elected Chairman of the Board of Education Thursday night.

The board re-organizes each September, naming a chairman, vice-chairman, and an assistant secretary.

Robinson succeeds Fifth District Member W.J. (Dub) Evins III who has served as chairman for the past year.

Evins was named Vice-Chairman and Third District member Kenny Rhody was elected Assistant Secretary for the year.

Chairman Robinson welcomed Bruce Parsley to the board. Thursday night was Parsley's first meeting with the board as a member from the sixth district. "He brings some experience as a parent and a former student of this school system and I think he will be an asset to the board."

Robinson also congratulated Kenny Rhody for reaching level 4 in the TSBA boardsmanship program. Under the program, board members may work on achievement in meeting certain goals and criteria in moving up to level 5.

In other business, Director of Schools Mark Willoughby presented his monthly report on personnel to the school board.

Those employed for the 2008-09 school year since last month are as follows:

Penelope Mason, 21st century site coordinator
Joannie Williams, school nurse
Mary Beth Ramsey, teacher, SES
Darnette Hibdon, bus driver
Sherry Williams, substitute custodian
Wanda Bradford, substitute cook
Angela Patrick, substitute cook
Sharon Washer, substitute cook
Elizabeth White, substitute cook

Substitute Teachers:
Ellen Ammons, Guylene Atnip, Suzette Barnes, Rebekah Beck, Jennifer Braswell, Carolyn Caldwell, Nancy Cantrell, Jenny Cantrell, Todd Cantrell, Pat Cook, Donna Davis, Tina Evans
Debbie France, Holly Frazier, Leanne Frazier, Robbie Frazier, Johnna Goff, Doris Graham
Natalie Green, Vicki Haggard, Amber Hawkins, Connie Henry, Darnette Hibdon, Shirley Ingram
Angela Johnson, Kelley Johnson, Jennifer Judkins, Martha Knowles, Milinda League, Mironica Luna, Joel Moore, Eden Nokes, Elizabeth Nolt, Angela Osment, Gayle Pack, Susan Palmer
Krystal Patterson, Iva Dell Randolph, Phyliss Reed, Kimberly Rhea, Tammy Rhea, Beth Rhody, Jessica Sims, Teresa Spencer, Tammy Turner, Wanda Sue Vickers, Tom Werling, Susan West, Helen Wilson, Jean Young, Kim Young, Nancy Young

Anna Johnson was granted a leave of absence as requested

Those who have resigned include Penny Bileyu, Angela Johnson, and Jalene Vanatta

Those who have transferred are:
Diana Moon, sub teacher to educational assistant at SES
Tonya Roberts, SES educational assistant to DWS
Jill Herron, teacher, DMS, replaces Penny Bileyu
Lisa Hale, educational assistant, replaces Jalene Vanatta as secretary at DeKalb West School.

In other business, the board approved one time supplement pay in the amount of $1,000 for full time educators who obtain National Board Certification. That's for the 2008-09 school year.

Director Willoughby says a "differentiated pay" plan is required by the State Department of Education and must be approved by October.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree