Scholarships Presented to Many Seniors During Awards Day Program at DCHS

May 15, 2008
Dwayne Page

Thousands of dollars in scholarships were awarded to members of the Class of 2008 at DeKalb County High School during Thursday's annual Senior Awards Day program.

Colleges, universities, businesses, civic groups, and other organizations presenting awards and their recipients are as follows:

MTSU Scholarships:
$5,000 Neill-Sandler & $2,500 Dr. Sidney & Elizabeth McPhee Scholarship-Lacey Parchman
$12,000 Valedictorian Scholarship-Nicholas Winchester
Full Tuition plus $4,000 Buchanan Fellowship-Adam Emerson

Cumberland University:
$2,000 Academic Scholarship through FBLA- John Malone

Vol State Community College:
$1,350 Athletic (Baseball) Scholarship -Bray Page

Martin Methodist College:
Academic and Athletic (Baseball) Scholarship- Trey Finley

University of Memphis:
Outstanding Music Performance Full Tuition Scholarship- Chase Ferrell

Tennessee Wesleyan College-
$8,000 Athletic (Golf) Scholarship-Grant Goodwin

Tennessee Tech University:
$10,000 Golden Eagle Excellence Scholarship- Lacey Beshearse
$10,000 Golden Eagle Excellence Scholarship- Jessica Harney
$500 Earl McDonald Leadership Scholarship- Hope Martin
$500 Joe Lancaster Family Scholarship (School of Agriculture Faculty and Staff)- Jessica Dyer

Motlow State Community College:
$4,000 Scholarship- Natasha Hendrixson

Nashville Auto Diesel College:
$1,000 NADC High School Select Scholarship- Randy Summers

Maryville College:
$12,000 per year Making a Difference Scholarship - Kayla Fish

$1,000 Leaders and Achievers Scholarship-Tyler Woods

Dr. Warren T. Johnson
$500 Scholarship-Geri Anna Wilson

David Lipscomb University:
$4,000 Scholarship-Dustin Hood

DeKalb Community Hospital:
$500 Scholarship-Abby Cantrell

Smithville Women's Club:
$500 Scholarships- Anna Marie Walker & Mary Williams

Lucille Stewart Memorial:
$2,000 Scholarships- Lacey Beshearse & Ryan Young

Kenny and Kyle Robinson Memorial:
$1,000 Scholarship- Tyler Woods

DeKalb County Scottish Rite:
$1,000 Scholarship-Abby Cantrell

Jeff Garrett Memorial:
$500 Scholarship- Joshua Cantrell

Eddie Crips Memorial:
$1,000 Scholarship- Travis Woodward and Kristel Shumake-Bush

Liberty State Bank:
$1,000 Scholarships- Joshua Cantrell & Daniel Foutch

Tennessee Valley Authority:
$4,000 Scholarship-Tayla Turner

Beecher and Wilma Moss:
$2,000 Scholarship- Hope Martin

Charlene Morrison Johns Memorial:
$500 Scholarship- Tayla Turner, Jacob Moore, & Jessica Harney

DeKalb Funeral Chapel:
$1,000 Scholarship- Chase Cantrell
$500 Scholarship- Dustin Bogle
$500-Scholarship- Tara Young

Love-Cantrell Funeral Home:
$500 Scholarships- Amber Evans & Alisha Billings

Allen Hooper Memorial:
$500 Scholarship- Jacob Moore

Joe Paris Parker:
4 year -$1500 Scholarship at U.T.- Dustin Jennings

DeKalb Farmers Coop:
$500 Scholarship- Jessica Dyer

DCHS Class of 1966:
$500 Scholarship- Colt Stewart

Katherine Conger Memorial:
$1,500 Scholarship- Dustin Hood, Travis Woodward, & Tyler Robinson

First Bank:
$500 Scholarship- Grant Goodwin
$500 James W. Ayers Foundation Scholarship- Grant Goodwin

Smithville Rotary Club:
$500 Scholarships- Jessica Harney and Lacey Parchman
$100 Math Award- Tayla Turner
$100 Vocational Award- Jeremy Eakes

DeKalb Retired Teachers Association:
$500 Scholarships- Alisha Billings & Emily Summers

Tony and Wanda Harts of Yuppies
$1,000 Scholarship -Tayla Turner

Smithville Business & Professional Women's Club:
$500 Scholarships- Brittney Cantrell & Emily Summers

Leadership DeKalb Alumni Association:
$750 Scholarship- Chase Ferrell
Partial Scholarship- Tyler Woods

DeKalb Republican Women:
$500 Scholarship- Dustin Hood

Agee Oil Company:
$1,500 Scholarship- Natasha Hendrixson

Amvets Post #101:
$250 Scholarship- Nique Tubbs

Amvets Post #101 Ladies Auxiliary:
$250 Scholarship- Lindsy Ervin

DeKalb County Fire Fighters Association:
$250 Scholarships- Dustin Bogle, Justin Duke, & Nick Winchester

DCHS Class of 1969:
$250 Scholarship- Lauren Hansard

DCHS Class of 1962:
$600 Scholarship- Corey Cripps

Middle Tennessee Times:
$500 Scholarship- Colt Stewart & Tayla Turner

Elzie & Nell McBride Memorial:
$500 Scholarship to MTSU- Ryan Young

DeKalb County Soil Conservation District:
$500 Scholarship- Jessica Dyer & Lacey Parchman

Jolly Angels:
$1000 Scholarship- Jake Hoover, Lacey Parchman, Brittney Cantrell, and Hope Martin

$1,000 Scholarship-Jacob Moore and Joshua Cantrell

$500 Scholarship- Alisha Billings
$300 FCCLA Margaret Browder Scholarship-Alisha Billings
$300 FCCLA Elizabeth Chapman Scholarship -Alisha Billings

DCHS Student Council:
$250 Scholarship- Tyler Woods

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree