School Board Receives TSBA "Board of Distinction" Award

September 11, 2008
Dwayne Page
School Board Receives TSBA Award

The DeKalb County Board of Education has been recognized by the Tennessee School Boards Association for earning the "Board of Distinction" honor.

The award was presented to the Board of Education during Thursday night's school board meeting.

James Mann, a director of the TSBA and a member of the Montgomery County School System, made the presentation.

In his remarks, Mann explained how local school boards become TSBA "Boards of Distinction." "Wishing to spotlight outstanding board performance, the Tennessee School Boards Association created it's Board of Distinction program to recognize the highest standards of performance by a board as a whole."

"This award is one of TSBA's most prestigious. It celebrates the achievements of those boards that have met the challenge of leadership in every area of their board responsibility."

"To be designated as a Board of Distinction, a school board must meet specific requirements in four key areas. Those areas are "planning", "policy", "promotion", and "board development". These areas include such elements as creating five year plans, reviewing and maintaining their policy manual, participating in TSBA district and state meetings, conducting a self evaluation, and participating in achieving and maintaining necessary boardsmanship levels for each member."

Mann added that this is a very prestigious award and not every school board qualifies to receive it. "Your board is among a selected few. On behalf of the Tennessee School Boards Association, I am very proud to present the Board of Distinction Award to the DeKalb County Board of Education."

The award is good for two years and the school board will have to continue to meet the guidelines in order to maintain Board of Disctinction status.

(Pictured left to right: Director Mark Willoughby, John David Foutch, TSBA Director James Mann, Johnny Lattimore, Kenny Rhody, Charles Robinson, W.J. (Dub) Evins III, and Bruce Parsley. Not pictured- Joan Draper who was absent)

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree