Woodward and Herman Receive Allen D. Hooper Memorial MVP Basketball Awards

March 18, 2008
Dwayne Page

Travis Woodward and Katie Herman received the Allen D. Hooper Memorial Most Valuable Player Awards during the annual DeKalb County High School Basketball banquet held Tuesday night at the Smithville First United Methodist Church Christian Fellowship Center..

The MVP trophies were presented by Chad Kirby of Love-Cantrell Funeral Home. The awards are named in memory of Kirby's grandfather.

Kirby also presented the Allen D. Hooper Memorial Most Valuable Cheerleader Award to Amber Evans.

Tiger Coach Lynus Martin presented the individual awards to members of his team. This year's winners are:

Best 6th Man- Hunter Stewart
Most Improved Player- J.J. Herriott
Best Practice Player and Smartest Player- John Malone
Hustle Award- Hunter Poteete
MVP, Best Athlete, Best Passer, Best Defender and Best Ball Handler- Travis Woodward
Best Offensive Player and Best Foul Shooter-Payne Denman.
Best Attitude-Dustin Jennings
Best Rebounder- Zach Rowland

The individual Lady Tiger Awards were presented by Assistant Coach Amy Tobitt. This year's winners are:

Best Practice Player- Kristina Stephens
Most Aggressive and Best Defender- Morgan Page
Most Improved Player- Victoria Bennett
Best Teammate- Lauren Hansard
Best Offensive Player- Cynthia Woodward
MVP-Katie Herman

Cheerleader Coach Walteen Parker presented the individual cheerleading awards. This year's winners are:

Most Improved- Kendra Foutch
Captain Award-Amber Evans and Lacey Parchman
Tiger Spirit-Lacey Parchman
MVP- Amber Evans
Dance-Alison Curtis
Jump- Jessica Cook
Gymnastics- Jessica Cook

One year cheerleading awards went to Elicia Cantrell and Camry White. Two year awards were presented to Caroline Carter, Kendra Foutch, and Amanda Ours. Three year awards went to Rosemary Apple, Jessica Cook, Alison Curtis, and Mindy Mofield. Four Year Awards were presented to Amber Evans and Lacey Parchman

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
Email: wjle@dtccom.net
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree