Charles Robinson Returned as Chairman of School Board

September 10, 2010
Dwayne Page
John David Foutch, Kenny Rhody, Mark Willoughby, and Charles Robinson

Second district school board member Charles Robinson was re-elected Chairman of the DeKalb County Board of Education Thursday night.

The school board reorganizes each September, naming a chairman, vice-chairman, and an assistant secretary.

In addition to Chairman Robinson, the board re-elected Third district member Kenny Rhody as Vice-Chairman and First district member John David Foutch was named assistant secretary.

Chairman Robinson welcomed the board's newest member, Billy Miller from the Fourth district, who attended his first meeting Thursday night. Robinson also praised former fourth district member Joan Draper for her service on the board of education for the last four years.

Director Mark Willoughby presented his monthly written report on personnel moves since last month.

Those employed include:

Martha D. Knowles, part-time school psychologist
Melissa Vantrease, educational assistant at DeKalb West School
Cerena Craig, part-time physical therapy assistant
Denenne Willingham, school bookkeeper at Northside Elementary School
Sue Arnold, substitute cafeteria worker
Jalene Vanatta, educational assistant at DeKalb West School

Approved substitute teachers:
Ellen Ammons, Guylene Atnip, Brenda Bandy, Lacey Beshearse, Jennifer Braswell, Carolyn Caldwell, Nancy Cantrell, Shannon Cantrell, Matthew Carpenter, Brenda Colwell, Julie Cook, Donna Davis, Linda Dean, Bob DePriest, Cynthia Dias, Betty Fisk, Debbie France, Ann Frazier, Holly Frazier, Kelly Frazier, Wayne Fuson, Sherrie Giles, Johnna Goff, Doris Graham, Natalie Green, Vicki Haggard, Judith Hale, Amber Hawkins, Gayla Hendrix, Ester Holder, Darnette Hibdon, Shirely Ingram, Milinda League, Jennifer Lewis, Kelly Merriman, Sharon Moffett, Diana Moon, Joel Moore, Joel Moss, Eden Nokes, Jamie Nokes, Carol Northcutt, Angela Osment, Lisa Patterson, Elaine Perricone, Ivadell Randolph, Rachel Seal, James Stanton, Mary Nell Summers, Jessica Sims, Peggy Sutton, Amanda Trapp, Tayla Turner, Wanda Vickers,Tom Werling, Holly Woodside, and Kim Young.

Karen Caplinger, school bookkeeper at Northside Elementary School.

In other business, the board adopted a resolution of appreciation honoring bus drivers.

The resolution states that "Whereas, School bus drivers frequently deal with challenging situations including bad weather and road conditions, sometimes misbehaving students and irresponsible drivers in traffic around their bus; and

Whereas, school bus drivers are the first representatives of the school system to greet our students and the last to see them each day and many drivers use the opportunity to make encouraging comments to our students and lift the spirits; and

Whereas, our school bus drivers, may be characterized as Safe, Welcoming And Trustworthy (S.W.A.T) team consistently providing the highest level of diligence to their task of transporting our community's most precious cargo; and

Whereas, they have established an outstanding record of accident-free trips as they drive our school buses transporting our children to school safely and making our school buses the safest way for students to get to school; and

Whereas, Schol bus drivers continuously dedicate time to learning and increasing their knowledge about new rules, regulations, and safety procedures in order to keep our transportation system among the best in the state; and

Whereas, the superintendent and school board appreciate the commitment and dedication of our school bus drivers and wish to honor them for their service to our students, parents, teachers, and the school district.

Therefore, be it hereby resolved that the DeKalb County Board of Education hereby establishes September 16th, 2010 as Bus Driver Appreciation Day in DeKalb County Schools; and

Be it further resolved that the Board encourages the students and staff to join us in expressing appreciation for what they do in recognizing our S.W.A.T. team as the driving force behind our schools."

The board also adopted a resolution recognizing Child Health Week 2010.

The resolution states that " Whereas, healthy lifestyles of Tennessee children today will fortify the welfare and progress of the state in the future; and

Whereas, reducing the burden of health problems like infant mortality, childhood obesity, asthma, and preventable injury and illness requires us to work collectively and proactively as a state; and

Whereas, numerous state and local partners are collaborating to offer community driven support and the proper resources to families while fostering healthier choices among Tennessee's children and residents of all ages; and

Whereas, Tennessee has a longstanding history of promoting child health- from being the first state in the nation to pass child safety seat legislation to recent recognition as a national leader in the areas of childhood immunization and school vending policies; and

Whereas, Child Health Day is a national event first proclaimed by President Calvin Coolidge in 1928 that celebrates its 83rd observance this October; and

Whereas, dedicating a week to the health and well being of children will encourage a lifelong pattern of healthy living; and

Whereas, all Tennesseans can positively impact the well being of children through the encouragement and promotion of healthy lifestyles;

Now, therefore, I, Phil Bredesen, Governor of the State of Tennessee, do hereby proclaim the week of October 4-10
as "Child Health Week" in Tennessee and encourage all citizens, agencies, and organizations to join me in this worthy observance to secure a healthier future for all of Tennessee's children."

The theme will be: "Healthy Youth, Healthy Future"

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree