County Officials Take Oath of Office

August 24, 2010
Dwayne Page
County Mayor and members of County Commission

Even though their new terms of office don't officially begin until September 1st, seven county officials and thirteen members of the county commission took the oath of office Tuesday afternoon at the courthouse.

In a brief ceremony Tuesday afternoon, Smithville Municipal Judge and County Attorney Hilton Conger administered the oath to County Clerk Mike Clayborn, Register of Deeds Jeff McMillen, County Mayor Mike Foster, Trustee Sean Driver, Road Supervisor Kenny Edge, and Sheriff Patrick Ray.

General Sessions Judge Bratten Cook, II administered the oath to Circuit Court Clerk Katherine Pack.

Later in the afternoon, County Mayor Foster administered the oath of office to members of the county commission including Mason Carter and Elmer Ellis, Jr. from the first district; Bobby Joines from the second district; Bradley Hendrix and Jerry Scott from the third district, Wayne Cantrell and David McDowell from the fourth district, Jerry Adcock and John Green from the fifth district, Jeff Barnes and Marshall Ferrell from the sixth district, and Larry Summers and Jimmy Poss from the seventh district. Jack Barton from the second district was absent.

Others elected on August 5th not taking the oath of office Tuesday, still have until September 1st to be sworn into office to begin their new terms.

Judge Cook also administered the oath to Smithville Municipal Judge Hilton Conger whose new appointed term begins September 1st.

(Pictured seated left to right: Bradley Hendrix, Elmer Ellis, Jr. Jimmy Poss, Jerry Adcock, John Green, and Bobby Joines)
(Pictured standing left to right: County Mayor Mike Foster, Mason Carter, David McDowell, Larry Summers, Jerry Scott, Jeff Barnes, Wayne Cantrell, and Marshall Ferrell)

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree