Road Supervisor Kenny Edge Wins Sixth Term

August 5, 2010
Dwayne Page
Kenny Edge
Charles Robinson
Kenny Rhody
Billy Miller

Republican Road Supervisor Kenny Edge won a sixth term in the General Election Thursday beating Democratic challenger James D. (Jimmy) Sprague.

Edge carried every precinct except Snow Hill (66 to 64) and received a total of 2,204 votes (63.37%) to 1,274 (36.63%) for Sprague. Edge also carried early voting/absentees.

A total of 3,816 people voted in the Thursday elections including 2,341 on election day and 1,474 during early voting or by absentee paper ballot.

(Click here to see results by precinct.

Meanwhile, in the school board races, second district member Charles L. Robinson and Incumbent Kenny Rhody in the third district were winners while Billy S. Miller won the fourth district seat.

Robinson defeated Jerry Wayne Johnson 279 votes (52.4%) to 253 (47.56%)

Rhody won with 257 votes (54.6%) beating Johnathan Willoughby who received 213 votes (45.32%).

Miller garnered 333 votes (61.9%) in his victory over Larry Redmon who polled 205 votes (38.1%)

Two other incumbent school board members ran unopposed, John David Foutch in the first district and Johnny Lattimore in the seventh district. Foutch received 378 votes and Lattimore had 286.

(Click here to see results of the school board races

In the county commission races, Democratic incumbent John Green was re-elected in the fifth district and Republican Jerry Adcock also won. Green received 196 votes (26.7%) and Adcock had 190 votes (25.9%). Independent Lloyd Emmons lost the race, coming in third place with 174 votes (23.7%)and Bobby Taylor, who won the democratic nomination in May, also lost Thursday coming in fourth place with 172 votes (23.4%).

In the seventh district Democratic incumbent Larry Summers was re-elected with 234 votes (38.3%). Democrat Jimmy Poss also won with 204 votes (33.3%). Independent candidate Richard Kinsey lost, coming in third place with 172 votes (28.3%)

(Click here to see results of the county commission races

Sheriff Patrick Ray led the ticket in the DeKalb County General Election with 3,017 complimentary votes followed by Circuit Court Clerk Katherine Pack with 2,927 votes, Register of Deeds Jeff McMillen 2,840 votes, Trustee Sean Driver 2,812 votes, County Clerk Mike Clayborn 2,739 votes, and County Mayor Mike Foster with 2,607 votes. All were unopposed.

Two other candidates, Circuit Court Judge Amy V. Hollars and District Attorney General Randall A. York ran unopposed to fill unexpired terms. Hollars garnered 1,721 votes and York received 1,768 votes in DeKalb County.

Except for the fifth and seventh districts, all other county commissioners ran unopposed. Their vote totals are as follows:

First District:
Mason Carter- 328
Elmer Ellis, Jr.- 221

Second District:
Bobby Joines- 329
Jack E. Barton, III- 257

Third District:
Bradley Hendrix- 322
Jerry Scott- 246

Fourth District:
Wayne Cantrell- 341
David McDowell- 273

Sixth District:
Jeff Barnes- 274
Marshall Ferrell- 214

Meanwhile, in the Dowelltown city election, Bradley Driver, Keith Farler, and Ronald Griffith all ran unopposed for re-election as aldermen. Driver received 74 votes, Farler 67, and Griffith with 64 votes

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree