Six in the Race for Smithville Alderman

March 16, 2011
Dwayne Page
Gayla Hendrix
Cordell Walker
Danny Washer
W.J. (Dub) White
Shawn Jacobs
Aaron Meeks

The three Smithville aldermen up for re-election will be challenged in this summer's municipal election

Aldermen Shawn Jacobs, Aaron Meeks, and W.J. (Dub) White are seeking a new two year term in the city balloting on Tuesday, June 21st. All three were elected two years ago. Jacobs is completing his first term. Meeks served as alderman from 2003 to 2007 when he lost a bid for re-election. He ran again in 2009 and was elected. White served as alderman from 1993 to 2001. He served as alderman again from 2003 to 2007 when he lost a re-election bid. White ran again and was elected in 2009.

Others hoping to win a seat on the city council as aldermen this summer are Smithville attorney and former educator Gayla Hendrix and local businessmen Cordell Walker and Danny Washer.

All three are familiar faces on the political scene. Walker is a former Smithville alderman. Washer made a run for alderman in 2008 and Hendrix ran for state representative three years ago.

All six, Jacobs, Meeks, White, Hendrix, Walker, and Washer have qualified by petition with the DeKalb County Election Commission.

Three aldermen will be elected on Tuesday, June 21st. Each term is for two years. The terms of office for those elected will begin on July 1st.

Early voting for the Smithville Municipal Election will be June 1st through June 16th. Meanwhile, May 23rd is the voter registration deadline for the Smithville City Election.

Voters who don't live in Smithville but own property in the city may vote in the municipal election under certain conditions.

The Smithville Charter allows Property Rights Voting. The property must be a minimum of
7500 square feet and the person owning the property must reside in DeKalb County. Proof of ownership and residence must be shown by the following means: (1) A certified copy of the deed and the execution of an affidavit that the person still owns this property and (2) A copy of the most recent DeKalb County real property tax notice, and (3) Proof of residence in DeKalb County. Property rights registrants are entitled to vote but not to hold any municipal office or serve on any municipal board or commission. Proof of ownership and registration form must be provided to the Election Commission office by the May 23rd registration deadline.

Meanwhile, Administrator of Elections Dennis Stanley reminds voters who have moved since registering to vote that the election commission office needs your current address on file.

"While checking the names of registered voters on some of the petitions returned recently, we noticed some voters have moved but have not informed the election commission office of their change of address," Stanley said. "Updating the record is a simple process. All the voter needs to do is fill out a change of address form, which is available at the election commission office. To see if you need to update your record, simply check the address on your voter registration card. If it is different than your current address, you need to update the information with the election commission."

"Updating the address will make your voting experience go much easier and quicker." Stanley said," and will not slow down the line at the polling place during early voting or election day."

For more information, you may contact the DeKalb County Election Commission Office which is open Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. The phone number is 615-597-4146.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree