DeKalb Middle School Students Attend Junior Beta Convention

November 27, 2012
Living Literature Competition (Photo by Shan Burklow)
Students in Living Literature Group (Photo by Shan Burklow)

DeKalb Middle School students recently attended the 2012 Junior Beta Convention held annually at the Opryland Hotel in Nashville. Seventy one DeKalb Middle School students participated in a variety of competitions.

The DeKalb Middle School Quiz Bowl team made history at the convention by placing among the top nine.. Members of the team were Ethan Cantrell, Tyree Cripps, Marshal Evins, and Thomas Webb. The competition was rigorous. The team made it through round one with a written test and was called back to compete in the semi-final round for an oral quiz in which the team had to ring in to answer questions.

Other students competed in the following:

Academic Competitions: Quiz Bowl: Math-Eli Cross; Social Studies-Caleb Rowland, Spelling-Luke Green, Science-Isaiah Jones, Battle of the Books-Maggie Robinson, Kelsey Merriman, Eleonore Atnip, and Jayrah Trapp, and Language Arts-Caelin Crips.

Talent: Caelin Crips and Izabella Perez sang "Give Your Heart a Break"

Arts & Crafts: Jewelry Making-Neely Evans, Wood Working-Seth Pack, and Pencil Art-Kristen Parsley

Photography: Thirteen students competed locally and two photographs were selected to represent DeKalb Middle School. Chloe Cripps with a black and white photograph of the "Old Bildad Church" and Makayla Cornett Bain submitted a color patriotic photograph. Others participating were Kayli White, Lexy Spry, Susan Webb, Alexis Roller, Lane Poss, Mathew Poss, Tyler Cantrell, Maggie Turner, Emily Wallace, Eleonore Atnip, Taylor Reeder, Kelsie Merriman, and Elizabeth Cripps.

Living Literature: This year this competition was headed up by a group of outstanding and dedicated students. This project was supervised and orchestrated by Shan Burklow. Shan worked endlesss hours in making this project a success. This competition requires one scene from literature to be constructed and the students must be in a full dress costume that depicts the characters and freeze for a period of four minutes. A break is given and then the students resume. This year's scene was taken from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Participants were Rachel Fuson, Callie Cripps, Grace Odom, Karen Johnson, Zack Parsley, Maddie Dickens, Taylor Spare, Kyle Justice, Jorge Blanco, Regan Foutch, Sahara Lafever, Christian Ellis, Emily Burlow, and Hannah Brown.

Other competitions: Scrapbook- Hayley Martin, Kendal Taylor, Ami Patel, Madison Cripps, Annissa Hall, Taylor Reeder, Faedra Burns, Kaitlyn Cantrell, Izabella Perez, Olivia Fuson, and Kayla Belk.

Banner: Lexi Bates, Abby Evans, Katherine Parsley and Hannah Panter, Emily Wallace, and Chloe Cantrell.

Tower of Power: This contest is to see how tall of a structure the group could make using masking tape and 150 straws in fifteen minutes. Participants were Bradley Miller, Allison Maynard, Jacob Self, Steven Jennings, and Gentry Harpole.

Poster contest: Amelia Patterson, Emily Wallace, Taylor Reeder, and Annissa Hall.

T-shirt design: Mikaela Holden.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree