DeKalb County Habitat For Humanity Names Officers and Board Members

February 28, 2013
2013 DeKalb County Habitat for Humanity Board

The DeKalb County Habitat for Humanity held their annual meeting at Evins Mill in Smithville in January

The newly elected Officers for 2013 are: President, Nolan Turner; Vice President, Chad Driver; Secretary, Gayla Hendrix; and Treasurer, Brenda Hooper.

Joining the Board as new members for a two year term are: Michael Barry, Chad Driver, and Joy Parker.

Other Board Members are: John Carpenter, Pam Restrepo, Arthur Primrose, Larry Steffee, Mary Nell Summers, Cindy Webb, Lisa Garrison, Larry Green, Rob Willingham, and Hearon Puckett.

Former Board members who continue to serve as committee chairs are: Sharon Evans, Tecia Puckett Pryor, Tom Janney, Glenda Davis, Gary Johnson, John Quintero, Kay Quintero, Kim Wheeler, Laura Stone, Nancy Lewis, and Marie Blair.

Leaving the Board as retiring members this year are: Jerry Scott, who has served since 2011, Laura Stone, who has served since 2007, and Nancy Lewis, who has served since 2003, and has served as Secretary for many years.

The DeKalb County Habitat for Humanity is nearing the completion of their fourth partner family house, which is located on Hays Street in Smithville. Plans for 2013 include: the completion of the fourth house; raising money to begin work on a fifth house; selecting and purchasing lots for future houses; and beginning the selection process of a partner family and an alternate partner family.

Funding for these projects comes from grants, fundraising projects, which include our annual fundraising events, The Fiddler 5K and the Chili Cook-Off.

The Fiddler 5K, takes place this year on July 6, 2013, (the Saturday morning of the Jamboree). Registration is currently available on the website at The Annual Chili Cook-Off takes place in the fall (date to be announced), at the 303 Building on the square in Smithville.

Everyone is encouraged to continue supporting the DeKalb County Habitat through volunteering and fundraising events, to ensure continued success. If anyone would like to know more about how to volunteer, please contact any of the board members.

(2013 DeKalb County Habitat for Humanity Board Photo- Front Row (left to right) – Arthur Primrose, Michael Barry, Cindy Webb, Nolan Turner, Mary Nell Summers, and Lisa Garrison.

Back Row (left to right) – John Carpenter, Larry Green, Rob Willingham, Chad Driver, Gayla Hendrix, Joy Parker, and Brenda Hooper.

Not Pictured: Hearon Puckett, Pam Restrepo, and Larry Steffee)

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree