Community Leaders Honored at Chamber Banquet

April 16, 2014
Dwayne Page
Jen Sherwood with Darrell, Beth, and Eli Gill
Jen Sherwood and Iva Del Randolph

The winners of the annual Leadership DeKalb Alumni awards were honored Tuesday night during the Chamber of Commerce Membership Banquet at the DeKalb County Complex.

Darrell and Beth Gill received the Community Leaders of the Year Award and Iva Del Randolph was presented the Legacy Award. Meanwhile, the Chamber presented Golden Milestone Awards to WJLE Radio and Cantrell's the home of Fluty. Each business is marking 50 years of service to the community.

The Community Leader of the Year award goes to someone who has made a significant and positive impact on the county, specifically during 2013 and in a capacity beyond commitment to his or her profession. "Darrell and Beth Gill worked tirelessly in youth athletics, particularly in both the youth football league and DCHS football", said Jen Sherwood, director of the Leadership DeKalb program.

The Legacy Award goes to the person or persons who have made a significant and positive impact on DeKalb County over a considerable period of time and in multiple or lasting ways. "Iva Del has managed the Relay for Life in DeKalb County for the American Cancer Society for seventeen years. She is also a retired school teacher. Iva Del is a beloved person in our community and we wanted to recognize her for leadership and service, not just for Relay for Life, but for our community to bring us together and to celebrate," said Sherwood.

The guest speaker was Susan Whitaker, Commissioner of the Tourist Development for the state, who spoke about the economic impact tourism has in Tennessee. Whitaker, a Chicago native, is a direct descendent of Tennessee's first Governor, John Sevier.

Meanwhile, the retiring members of the Chamber board were recognized including Tony Luna of the Real Estate Team, Lori Manns of Manns Master Mechanics, Kathy Hendrixson of Justin Potter Library, Valerie House, Leadership Alumni, and Kathy McGlamery, past President.

New members are Elaine Swicker, employee of Smithville Computer Repair, Joan Barrett of Premier Realty at Center Hill Lake, LLC, Dwayne Cornelius, pastor of the New Life United Pentecostal Church and co-owner of DeKalb Depot, Inc., Gail Looper, retired manager of the Gallery and Exhibitions programs at the Appalachian Center for Crafts, and Jason Murphy, owner of Optimus Pest Solutions and a Smithville Alderman.

The 2014 officers are President Julia Cantrell, Vice President Jeff Crips, Secretary Joan Barrett, and Treasurer Susan Young. Janna Gillard is the Past President.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree