Four School Board Members Awarded for Years of Service

August 14, 2014
Dwayne Page
Mark Willoughby, John David Foutch, Johnny Lattimore, Charles Robinson, Kenny Rhody, Jordan Wilkins

Four school board members who will be leaving office come September 1 attended their last board of education meeting Thursday night.

Director of Schools Mark Willoughby presented each of them a School Bell Award in appreciation for their service and cited some school system achievements made during their years on the board. Willoughby also presented a School Bell Award to Jordan Wilkins, a recent DCHS graduate, for serving this past year as the high school's non-voting student representative on the school board.

First district member John David Foutch did not seek re-election. Foutch was first appointed to the school board by the county commission in 2005 to finish out the term of Darrell Gill who resigned because he and his family had moved to another district. Foutch was elected in 2006 and re-elected in 2010, He is completing nine years on the school board. Foutch will be succeeded by DeKalb West School Principal Danny Parkerson, who will have to resign his position with the school system when he becomes a member of the Board of Education.

Second district member Charles Robinson is completing twelve years on the school board, having first been elected in 2002 and then re-elected in 2006 and 2010. He will be succeeded by Jerry Wayne Johnson, who served on the school board from 1992 to 1998.

Third district member Kenny Rhody is also completing his third term on the school board. Rhody succeeded his father Billy Rhody who served the third district on the board for several years until his death. Kenny Rhody was elected in 2002 and re-elected in 2006 and 2010. He is being succeeded by Jim Beshearse.

Seventh District member Johnny Lattimore is wrapping up his third term. He was first elected in 2002 and re-elected in 2006 and 2010. He will be succeeded by Shaun Tubbs.

Other members of the school board are Billy Miller in the fourth district, W.J. (Dub) Evins, III in the fifth district, and Doug Stephens in the sixth district. Miller was re-elected unopposed last week. The terms of Evins and Stephens expire in 2016. Each term is for four years.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree