Station Camp deals DCHS two more Hall of Fame defeats

November 17, 2007

DeKalb County traveled to Station Camp, Saturday night, for a second set of Hall of Fame games, but again, came out on the short end of the scoreboard. The Lady Tigers gave the reigning District 8-AA champs a battle, most of the way, before dropping a 50-39 decision. The Tigers, meanwhile, trailed from the opening tip to the final horn, and lost a 70-48 contest to the Bison, the team that ended the DeKalb boys' season last winter.

The Lady Tigers bounced back from an early 4-0 deficit to tie the game at 11-11 at the end of the first period. DeKalb County took the lead on a Cynthia Woodward three-pointer, with 6:35 left in the second period, and extended the lead to 16-12, with 5:20 left in the half. The Lady Bison battled back, however, and closed out the half on a 12-3 run, which gave the hosts a 24-19 lead at the half.

Station Camp out-scored the DeKalb girls 19-6 in the third period, which gave the Lady Bison a 43-25 lead going into the final period. The Lady Tigers were able to close the gap back to within double digits in the final period, but despite out-scoring Station Camp 14-7 in the fourth, DeKalb was unable to fully complete the comeback.

Katie Herman led the Lady Tigers with 11 points, followed by Kristina Stephens and Cynthia Woodward with nine points apiece. Victoria Bennett added six, while Martha Webb tallied four points. Ellyn Unger led Station Camp with 13 points.

In the nightcap, John Jenkins scored 29 points for the Bison, who led wire-to-wire against the Tigers. Station Camp led 15-11 at the end of the first period, and 32-19 at the half. The Bison blew the game open with a 23-13 edge in the third period, while the Tigers claimed a 16-15 fourth period advantage.

Travis Woodward scored 19 points to pace DC, while J.J. Herriott added seven. Zack Rowland, Dustin Jennings and Tyler Kent had four points apiece, Payne Denman had three, Hunter Stewart, John Malone, and Cody Myrick each tallied two points, while Ethan Hale chipped in a free throw.

DeKalb County likely will not count the two Hall of Fame games on their overall record. The teams will play their home opener, Tuesday night at 6:00 p.m., as Warren County comes to town. WJLE will broadcast the games live.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree