Local Sports

Tigers Roar at Cannon County

The DeKalb County Tigers improved their over-all record to 2-1 and got their first district win of the season Friday night with a 34 to 7 victory over the Cannon County Lions in Woodbury.

The Tigers got on the board with 6:35 left in the first period on a 13 yard touchdown pass play from quarterback Shane Salley to Kevin Kijanski, capping a 95 yard drive. The P.A.T. attempt by Zach Taylor was no good but DeKalb County had a 6-0 lead.

Click here to listen to Tiger Talk (9-3-10)

Cannon County had barely gotten the ball back when the Tigers made them pay for a costly mistake. From their own 20 yard line, the ball sailed over the quarterback's head on a bad snap and DeKalb County's Kevin Kijanski got the ball and took it back the other way eight yards for a touchdown. The P.A.T. by Zach Taylor was good and the Tigers led 13-0 with 5:50 left in the first period.

Tigers Win 25-13 at Oneida

The DeKalb County Tigers got their first victory of the 2010 high school football season Friday night at Oneida 25 to 13.

Zach Taylor put the first Tiger points on the board on the first play of the second period on a 39 yard field goal. DeKalb County led 3-0 with 11:53 left in the second quarter.

Click here to listen to the Tiger Talk Show (8-27-10)

After getting a turnover, the Tigers drove thirteen yards for their first touchdown of the night late in the second quarter on a three yard touchdown run by Kevin Kijanski. Zach Taylor converted on the PAT and the Tigers led 10-0 with 1:28 left in the second period.

Oneida got it's first touchdown of the night with 8:26 left in the third period as quarterback Houston West scored on a 67 yard touchdown run. The PAT attempt by Jarret Lay was no good but Oneida had cut the Tiger lead to 10-6.

DeKalb Saints Win 6-0 at Gordonsville

The DeKalb Saints defeated Gordonsville Tuesday night 6-0 in their first road game of the season. The only score of the game came with 4:08 left in the second period as Luke Boss intercepted a Gordonsville pass and returned it for a touchdown. The two point conversion attempt failed. The Saints, now 2-0, will play at Cornerstone in Baxter next Thursday, September 2nd at 6:30 p.m.

DCHS Girls Soccer Results

Results of DCHS Girls Soccer Play Day in Chattanooga on Saturday, August 21st

1st game: Lincoln Co. vs DeKalb Co. with the score being
Lincoln 5 - DeKalb 0

2nd game: Signal Mountain. vs DeKalb Co. with the score being
Signal Mtn. 1 - DeKalb 1 Tie game Azailia Arroyo#20 scored a goal with an
assist by Monse Leon#19.

Tigers Fall Short in Season Opener to Warren County 19-16

The DeKalb County Tigers came up short in the season opener Friday night losing at home to the Warren County Pioneers 19 to 16.

The black and gold got behind only twenty eight seconds into the game as a snap from center sailed over quarterback Shane Salley's head. The ball was covered in the endzone for a safety to give Warren County a 2-0 lead.

Click here to listen to the (8-20-10) Tiger Talk program
The Pioneers got on the scoreboard again with 10:03 left in the first period as Caleb Northcutt took it in from one yard out, capping a five play, 59 yard drive. The P.A.T. by Adam Fann was good and Warren County led 9-0.

The Tigers got their first points of the night on the strength of a 34 yard field goal by Zach Taylor with 5:20 left in the second period. DeKalb County trailed 9-3.

Saints Win Season Opener 28-8

The DeKalb Saints defeated Smith County in the season opener Thursday night 28 to 8 in Smithville.

Braxton Howell for the Saints scored first on a 26 yard touchdown run with 6:27 left in the first period. The two point conversion attempt failed but the Saints led 6 to 0.

Luke Boss scored on a four yard touchdown run with 7:46 left in the second period. Quarterback Aaron Patterson scored on the two point conversion run to give the Saints a 14-0 lead.

Howell scored again with 24 seconds left in the second quarter on a 31 yard run and the two point conversion run by A.J. Mooneyham gave the Saints a 22-0 lead at halftime.

Boss put the Saints on top 28-0 with 7:18 left in the third quarter on an 11 yard touchdown run. The two point conversion attempt failed.

Smith County got on the scoreboard with 5:42 left in the third period. They also converted on the two point try and the score was 28-8 in favor of the Saints.

DCHS Tigers Open Football Season August 20th

The DeKalb County Tiger Football Team will open the season next Friday night, August 20th at home against the Warren County Pioneers.

The team has been practicing and scrimmaging in pre-season and this Friday night, August 13th the team will have it's final dress rehearsal in a football jamboree at Shelbyville against the host school starting at 7:30 p.m. The teams will play for two quarters.

As far as the season goes, DCHS coach Steve Trapp is optimistic.

The following is the 2010 DCHS Football Schedule:

August 20th: Warren County (Home) 7:00 p.m.
August 27th: Oneida (Away) 7:00 p.m.
September 3rd: Cannon County* (Away) 7:00 p.m.
September 10th: White County (Away) 7:00 p.m.
September 17th: Smith County* (Home) 7:00 p.m.
September 24th: Hixson (Homecoming) 7:00 p.m.
October 1st: York Institute (Home) 7:00 p.m.


Subscribe to Sports Articles content

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
Email: wjle@dtccom.net
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree