Local Sports

DeKalb 15's & 16's lose District Tournament final

July 15, 2008

The DeKalb County 15 & 16 year old Senior League All-Stars lost the chance to earn a bid into the State Senior League Tournament, Monday night, as they dropped a 6-3 decision to Smith County in the championship game of the District 2 Tourament in Smithville.

The local All-Stars took a 1-0 lead in the bottom of the first inning, as Matt Giles scored on an error, and the scored remained the same until the top of the fifth inning. DeKalb starting pitcher, McCullough Wallace, held Smith County to just a single hit through the first four innings, but gave up three runs on four hits in the top of the fifth, including a solo home run by Zach Tongate and a pair of RBI singles to Zack Sanders and Timmy Bush.

DeKalb Machine-Pitch teams split

The end of the season has come for one of DeKalb County's two machine-pitch
All-Star teams, while the other team is moving on to the double-elimination
championship tournament.
DeKalb's machine-pitch representative in the Lebanon tournament bowed out of
competition, last week, after posting a 1-3 record in pool play. DeKalb was
shut out by Smith County in their first game, 22-0, last Monday, but came
back and evened their record at 1-1 with an 11-1 blasting of Portland on Tuesday.
Back-to-back losses to Lebanon (18-0) on Wednesday, and Sparta (12-7) on
Friday left the DeKalb group out of the mix to advance to the next round.
Smith County claimed the top seed out of the Lebanon bracket, while Lebanon
claimed the number-two seed.
The DeKalb machine-pitch team in Smith County, however, clinched a spot in
this week's tournament by posting a 3-1 record in pool play. DeKalb crushed
Portland, 22-0, last Tuesday to open pool play, but lost to host, Smith

DeKalb 11's & 12's win District title; State Tourney next

July 9, 2008

The DeKalb County 11-12 year old Little League All-Stars topped Smith County, 7-2, in Sparta Wednesday night to win the District Two Tournament title. The victory sends the local All-Star team on to Pulaski, where they will compete in the Little League State Tournament.

Devin Summers scored DeKalb County's first run on a wild pitch in the top of the second inning, and an RBI groundout by Summers in the top of the third inning brought Seth Stanley, followed by Steven Page, who came in to score after the throw home in an attempt to get Stanley sailed over the head of the Smith County catcher and into the back stop. Page picked up DeKalb's first hit of the game just before Summers' RBI groundout, which gave the local team a 3-0 game.

DeKalb 11's & 12's play for State berth Wednesday

July 9, 2008

Jalon Foster and Braxton Howell each hit home runs, as the DeKalb County 11 & 12 year old Little League All-Stars doubled up Smith County, 10-5, Tuesday night in Sparta, setting up a second and deciding game for the District Tournament championship Wednesday night (tonight). The game will get underway at 7:00 p.m.

DeKalb County jumped out to a 4-0 lead after the first inning, and had a 6-0 lead before Smith scored four unanswered runs to make it a 6-4 game. The locals pulled away with their hot hitting, and gave Smith County their first loss of the District Tournament. Cody Harell pitched five innings on the mound for the win, while Braxton Howell and Steven Page came in to close the game out on the hill.

Again, the 11's & 12's will play Smith County for the District Championship and a State Tournament berth Wednesday night (tonight) at 7:00 p.m. in Sparta.

11's & 12's to play for District title

July 8, 2008

The DeKalb County 11-12 year old Little League All-Stars routed Lafayette, 14-6, Monday night in Sparta, and will play Smith County for the District Tournament championship and a berth to the Little League State Tournament in Pulaski. DeKalb must beat Smith twice, however, as it is a
double-elimination tournament and the local team has already lost one game, while Smith is undefeated in District play.

Steven Page hit a grand slam in Monday night's win, while Braxton Howell added a three-run homer. Jalon Foster pitched five strong innings to earn the win on the mound. Foster struck out eight Lafayette hitters.

DeKalb County will play Smith County, Tuesday night, at 7:00 p.m. in Sparta. She the local 11's & 12's win that game, a second and deciding game would be played Wednesday night at 7:00 p.m.

Patterson's walk-off homer leads 11's & 12's past Sparta

July 1, 2008

Aaron Patterson hit a two-out walk-off two-run home run in the bottom of the seventh inning, Monday night in Sparta, and propelled the DeKalb County 11-12 year-old Little League All-Stars to a 9-7 victory over Sparta in pool play action.

Patterson entered the game as a pitch hitter with a runner on base and two outs on the board. The shot landed just over the left field fence and capped off a comeback for the local team.

Sparta jumped on top with a run in the top of the first inning, but DeKalb answered on Cody Harrell's RBI single in the bottom of the second. Sparta took a 2-1 lead with another run in the third, but Devin Summers tied the game with an RBI single in the bottom of the inning. Another RBI base hit gave the hosts a 3-2 lead in the top of the fourth inning, but Jalon Foster hit a two-run home run off the scoreboard to give DC their first lead, at 5-3.

DC 9-10 All-Stars still looking for first win

July 1, 2008

The DeKalb 9-10 year-old Minor League All-Stars lost to host, Sparta, 7-0, Monday night to drop to 0-2 in pool play at the Area Tournament. The local team was held hitless through the six inning game on Monday.

Sparta plated three runs on four hits in the bottom of the first inning off DC starting pitcher, A.J. Mooneyham, then added another run in the third and three more in the fifth inning. DeKalb County put five base runners aboard, but only one got as far as second base.

Mooneyham gave up all seven Sparta runs on eight hits and struck out four hitters.

The loss came two days after the local 9's and 10's were held scoreless on four hits in a 4-0 loss to Smith County on Saturday night. Austin Brown, Sam McMillen, John Roller and Charlie Young accounted for the four hits in Saturday's game, while Roller took the loss on the mound.


Subscribe to Sports Articles content

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166

Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
Email: wjle@dtccom.net

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree