Local Sports

Tiger soccer team drops heartbreaker to Livingston Academy

April 18, 2008

For the second time in ten days, the DeKalb County Tiger soccer team faced district power, Livingston Academy, and for the second time, the Wildcats came up with a victory over the local team. Livingston scored two first half goals, Thursday night in Smithville, and held off a fierce Tiger comeback attempt in the second half for a 2-1 victory.

The Wildcats struck in the game's 13th minute on an unassisted goal by Tyler Watkins, who rifled the ball from the right wing into the corner net. Almost ten minutes later, the 'Cats struck again on a goal by B.J. Byers to make it 2-0.

DeKalb got a lift in the 13th minute of the second half, as Zach Wilbur fired a shot off his head into the corner net to put the Tigers on the board. The second half took on a much more intense tone from that point, but the Tigers were unable to find the net again.

Macon County completes sweep of Tigerettes

April 18, 2008

The Macon County Lady Tigers handed the DeKalb County High School Tigerette fast-pitch softball team a 5-1 district loss in Smithville on Thursday, and completed a regular season sweep of the local team.

Macon County struck with a run in the top of the third inning, but the Tigerettes tied the game on a run scored by Kristina Stephens on a double-steal opportunity in the bottom of the fourth inning. Brittney Armour almost scored the go-ahead run for DeKalb, moments later, but was thrown out at home on Shay Sullivan's single to left field on the throw back in to home plate.

The Lady Tigers put up the go-ahead run in the top of the fifth inning, taking advantage of a DeKalb County fielding miscue. Sullivan loaded the bases in the fifth before striking out a batter to end the inning, with Macon on top, 2-1.

Tigers salvage split with Smith

April 18, 2008

The DeKalb County Tiger baseball team claimed a 7-4 win over the Smith County Owls in nine innings in Carthage, Wednesday afternoon, earning a split in their two-game series with their district foe. The Owls topped the Tigers, 5-4, in Smithville on Tuesday.

The Tigers scored two runs in the top of the third inning, but the Owls came back with a run in the bottom of the inning. DeKalb took a 4-1 lead with two more runs in the top of the fourth, but the Owls gradually chipped away the lead with one run in each the fifth, sixth and seventh innings.

Zack Rowland drove in the go-ahead run in the top of the ninth inning, and the Tigers tacked on two more insurance runs to take a three-run lead. Bray Page, who earned the win on the mound for DC, shut down the Owls in the bottom of the ninth, as the Tigers took home the win. Page struck out ten batters, walked four and hit a batter.

Owls edge Tigers, 5-4, in district clash

April 15, 2008

The Smith County Owls took advantage of three unearned runs in the top of the sixth inning, and held off the DeKalb County Tigers, 5-4, in Smithville Tuesday night.

The Owls scored a run in the top of the first inning on an RBI single by Timmy Bush, but the Tigers answered with a run of their own in the bottom of the first on an RBI double by Zack Rowland. Neither team scored again until the fifth inning, when the Owls took the lead on a run scored on a wild pitch by Brandon Johnston.

DeKalb County came back, again, in the bottom of the inning, and tied the game, 2-2, on an RBI double by Cody Atnip. Bray Page followed Atnip's rip with an RBI single, which gave the Tigers a 3-2 advantage.

Tigerettes win district clash at Livingston

April 15, 2008

The DeKalb County High School Tigerette fast-pitch softball team defeated the Livingston Academy Lady Wildcats for the third time this season, Tuesday afternoon in Livingston. The Tigerettes scored a 5-2 victory over the Lady 'Cats, giving them a regular season sweep against their Livingston rival. The Tigerettes beat the Lady Wildcats, 10-2, back on March 20th in Smithville, and topped them, 11-0, at the Plateau Invitational in Crossville, over the weekend.

The Tigerettes jumped out on top with three runs in the top of the first inning and added one more in the second. DeKalb hit a scoring drought until the seventh inning, when they tacked on one more run. The Lady Wildcats scored their two runs in the bottom of the fourth inning.

Shay Sullivan was the winning Tigerette pitcher, as she worked the full seven innings, allowed two runs on nine hits, struck out five and walked two.

Tigerettes finish second at Plateau Invitational

April 14, 2008

The DeKalb County High School Tigerette fast-pitch softball team played six games, this past Saturday at the Plateau Invitational in Crossville, winning four of those games, which gave the Tigerettes a second place finish in the event.

DeKalb County opened play with a pool play game against Cookeville, which they lost, 3-0. Morgan Page took the pitching loss, as she worked 2 1/3 innings, allowed three runs on six hits, walked one batter and hit two. Shay Sullivan pitched an inning and two-thirds, allowed one hit, struck out one and hit two batters.

The Tigerettes had only one hit against Cookeville pitching, a single by Kayla Fish.

Tigerettes blank Smith County in Carthage

April 8, 2008

Shay Sullivan allowed only two hits through seven innings pitched, and the DeKalb County Tigerette fast-pitch softball team beat out 11 hits against Smith County pitching, as the Tigerettes blanked the host Lady Owls, 7-0, Tuesday in Carthage.

Sullivan struck out seven batters, walked one and hit two, and the Tigerette offense did the rest of the damage. DeKalb went ahead with a run in the third inning, added three more in the fourth, two more in the fifth, and tacked on an insurance run in the top of the seventh inning. Smith County committed five errors in the contest, while DC had none.

At the plate for the Tigerettes, Jaylen Garrett had a single, a double and two RBI. Shay Sullivan had a single, a double and one RBI. Cynthia Woodward, Kristina Stephens and Kayla Fish had two singles apiece, while Brittney Armour tallied a double.

Tigers rally past Macon County for district split

April 8, 2008

The DeKalb County High School Tiger baseball team rallied from a 4-1 fifth inning deficit, Tuesday night, and used a nine-run outburst in the bottom of the fifth to power past Macon County, 12-4, in their second regular season district match-up.

The Tigers scored a run in the bottom of the first inning, and held the 1-0 advantage until Macon tied the game with a run in the top of the third inning. The visitors parlayed an RBI single by Kyle Grace and three DeKalb County errors into a three-run fourth inning, as Macon went on top, 4-1.

DeKalb County blew the game open in the bottom of the fifth, however, using 14 at bats, five base hits and six walks to put up nine runs and take a 10-4 lead. Colt Stewart put the icing on the cake for the Tigers in the bottom of the sixth, as he blasted a two-run home run - his third of the year - which gave DC a 12-4 advantage.


Subscribe to Sports Articles content

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166

Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
Email: wjle@dtccom.net

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree